H.J. “Doc” Weiler/Marvin Watts were two of the most popular and respected lobbyists ever to walk the halls of the State Capitol.  They used their exemplary knowledge of the governmental process to become two of the strongest advocates for New Mexico’s mining industry.  Their dedication to mining extended beyond the interests of their clients and benefited the New Mexico Mining Association and industry as a whole.  The one thing that Doc and Marvin were best known for was professionalism.

In honor of these two fine gentlemen, the New Mexico Mining Association in 2005 established the Doc Weiler/Marvin Watts Award for Professionalism.  The award is to be given each year at the Association’s Annual Legislative Reception and Dinner to any individual member of the NMMA, governmental employee, or lobbyist who has developed a strong and widely respected reputation as an advocate for New Mexico’s mining industry.  The recipient must have demonstrated a commitment to issues important to New Mexico’s mining industry over an extended period of time.

The first award, given in 2006, and the recipient was Mr. Joe Menapace.

2006 – Joe Menapace
2007 – Leroy Apodaca
2008 – David Abbey
2009 – Bob Darnell
2010 – Dr. Dan Lopez
Tony Trujillo, Dr. Dan Lopez & President Don Purvis
2011 – Carolyn Clark Loder
Mike Bowen, Carolyn Loder, & President Don Purvis
2012 – Dal Moellenberg
President Don Purvis, Dal Moellenberg, Tony Trujillo & TJ Trujillo
2013 – Jon Indall
President Hank McCabe & John Indall
2014 – Tom Rutherford
Tom rutherford & President Hank McCabe
2015 –  Anthony (T.J.) Trujillo
TJ Trujillo & President Mitch Knapton
2016 – Louis Rose
TJ Trujillo, Louis Rose & President Mitch Knapton
2017 –  Stuart Sutzier
President Mike Neumann & Stuart Sutzier
2018 –  Juan Velasquez
President Mike Neumann & Juan Velasquez